Posted by: Rio | September 30, 2008

Timing and Spacing

I’ve finally received my Pencil Check Pro application license so I can now render and posts the animations I’m working on.  Here’s my first real lesson.

Grim Natwick, the creator of Betty Boop, who animated 83 scenes on Snow White once said, “Animation, it’s all in the timing and the spacing.”  I’ve struggled with applying both concepts, but the light bulb went off last night and I think I’m finally beginning to truly understand both concepts.

Animation legend, Richard Williams, says, “The bouncing ball says it all.”  This is very true.  Everything learned from a simple ball animation can be applied to the complex stuff.  So, here’s the first of several, if not many ball animations.

Leave a Reply

Categories

